Berthoud Weekly Surveyor | Covering all the angles in the Garden Spot

Trustee candidate packets available Jan. 5

December 31, 2015 | Local News

By Rudy Hemmann
The Surveyor

According to Town Clerk Mary Cowdin, nomination packets for persons wishing to run for the position of town trustee may be picked up at the town clerk’s office located at Berthoud Town Hall, 328 Massachusetts Ave., beginning Jan. 5, 2016. The packets must be returned to the clerk’s office no later than Monday, Jan. 25, by 5 p.m.

A minimum of 10 valid signatures from registered voters who reside within Berthoud town limits are required to be filed with each petition. Forms for the collection of signatures are included in the packets. The packets contain general information about completing the enclosed forms, timelines, the lawful placement of campaign signs, and the board positions that are open, along with other information which may be of interest to the candidates.

Cowdin confirmed that five trustee positions including, Suzie White, Paul Alaback, Jan Dowker, interim Trustee Dick Shepard and also Mayor David Gregg’s seats are all up for election. Incumbents may run for re-election to the seat they currently hold provided they are not term limited. Cowdin also informed the seat currently held by interim Trustee Dick Shepard will be for two years rather than the usual four-year term. The individual who chooses that seat will finish the term of Michael Henning who resigned from the board in September.


Official results for the appointment of Dick Shepard

At the Nov. 10 town board meeting, Dick Shepard was selected from a pool of six applicants to fill the board seat left vacant by the resignation of Michael Henning. Shepard will fill the vacancy until the municipal election is held April 5.

Two rounds of voting were required for the final result to be reached. Town Clerk Mary Cowdin furnished the following results from each round of the voting.

Results of round one:

2 votes for Dick Shepard (Trustees Baker and Buckridge)

2 votes for Brian Young (Mayor Gregg and Trustee White)

1 vote for Kevin Pischke (Trustee Alaback)

1 vote for Leon Palmer (Mayor Pro-Tem Dowker)

Results of round two (runoff between Shepard and Young):

4 votes for Shepard (Mayor Pro-Tem Dowker, Trustees Baker, Buckridge and White)

2 votes for Young (Trustee Alaback and Mayor Gregg)

related Local News
Community Calendar – add an event