Berthoud Weekly Surveyor | Covering all the angles in the Garden Spot

Ivy Stockwell, Berthoud Elementary recognized as award-winning schools

April 05, 2018 | Local News

By Aaron Reynolds

The Surveyor

Ivy Stockwell and Berthoud Elementary were each recognized at a recent Thompson School District Board of Education  (TSD) meeting for receiving the John Irwin School of Excellence award. The Berthoud elementary schools were two of only four schools within the Thompson School District to be included in the 2017 John Irwin list. Berthoud El previously earned the award in 2016 and 2014 as well.

According to the Colorado Department of Education website, “The John Irwin awards are given to schools that demonstrate exceptional academic achievement over time. These schools received an Exceeds Expectations rating on the Academic Achievement indicator of the School Performance Frameworks reflecting exceptional performance in Math, English Language Arts, and Science.”

The purpose of the School Performance Frameworks is to “hold districts and schools accountable for performance on the same, single set of indicators and measures,” according to the CDE, and indicates key performance in “academic achievement, academic longitudinal growth, and postsecondary and workforce readiness.”

“I’m here tonight to share in these huge celebrations,” Dr. Margaret Crespo, chief academic officer for TSD, said before bringing up representatives from the four schools at the March 21 meeting. “This is an incredible award provided by the top state level, and we are very excited for their great work around assessment and all of their great work they do every day with STEM work and great students and families.”

“At Ivy Stockwell we have been working really, really hard to implement a rigorous STEM program for our kiddos, and our work is showing and paying off,” a representative from Ivy Stockwell stated upon receiving the award. “Last year our kiddos in English/language arts in third, fourth and fifth grade were 10th in the state overall for growth in literacy. We are moving in the right direction with our kiddos.”

Superintendent Dr. Stan Scheer then took the podium to introduce Berthoud El by adding it’s “not a stranger to this award.”

“These awards are presented certainly because of academic achievement and all that goes with it,” Scheer highlighted. “All you have to do is visit [Berthoud El] to know that good things are going on there, and certainly it is demonstrated through the data that is presented defines the very hard work that goes behind that staff and administration and leadership. Congratulations to you.”

In addition to Ivy and Berthoud El, Big Thompson Elementary School and Coyote Ridge were the other two schools within the district honored as 2017 John Irwin award winners.

related Local News